Star Struck

Joey Jessop #2 now available!

Perfect for fans of Elle Cosimano and Kellye Garrett, in this second Hollywood mystery, film costumer Joey Jessop discovers that Hollywood buries its secrets deep when a superstar’s assistant turns up dead.

Costumer Joey Jessop is working on a movie set in 1930s Hollywood and starring two of the world’s biggest stars. The male lead is also a dedicated social activist, and the female lead, Gillian Best, is known for her lifestyle brand. After a hit-and-run near the set, Joey realizes that the car involved belongs to Gillian, and she begins to wonder if the actress has more to hide than her Botox appointments.

Her suspicions deepen when Gillian’s personal assistant, Rita, vows to get revenge for Gillian replacing her and is found dead shortly after. Gillian quickly labels Rita’s death a suicide, and the police seem to agree—but Joey isn’t so sure.

With the police standing aside, it’s up to Joey to dig up the truth—but Hollywood stars know how to keep their secrets close, and a woman like Gillian Best won’t take kindly to someone sniffing around her affairs. Joey is certain that Gillian has something to hide—and she’s determined to find out what.

Praise

“Sorry Sherlock. Detective work has nothing on the perils of costume design.”
Kirkus Reviews

Star Struck is a delightful addition to McCown’s Hollywood Mystery series—a zinger of a whodunit with all the glitz and glam a reader could want and a twisty turny mystery readers will devour!”
—Jenn McKinlay, NYT bestselling author

Star Struck features a lovable protagonist, movie costumer Joey Jessop, who must work fast and think faster when she’s up against a ruthless diva.”
—Robyn Walton, book reviewer, The Weekend Australian

“In Star Struck, McCown brings all the chaos, glamour, and high drama of a Los Angeles film set to life in thrilling detail.”
—Wendall Thomas, author of the Anthony, Macavity, and Lefty nominated Cyd Redondo Mysteries

Star Struck is a beguiling and enthralling look behind the Hollywood curtain through the eyes of a wonderful protagonist, costumer Joey Jessop. Like a good movie, this elegant mystery novel will draw you in and keep you guessing until the end, so I highly recommend you pop the popcorn and enjoy the ride.”
—Mark Pryor, author of the Hugo Marston and Henri Lefort mystery novels